Southern Arkansas University Tech is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission.

The Higher Learning Commission
230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500
Chicago, Illinois 60604-1413
Contact by Phone: 1-800-621-7440 or 1-312-263-0456
Fax: 1-312-263-7462

Other programs and their respective approvals and accreditations are as follows:

Cosmetology: Arkansas Department of Health

Arkansas Department of Higher Education Reporting

As an Arkansas post-secondary education public institution, SAU Tech is required by Arkansas law to submit student enrollment data to the Arkansas Department of High Education (ADHE) using the Student Information system (SIS).

SAU Tech General Education Competencies


Assessment Committee

The Southern Arkansas University Tech Assessment Committee works with the Vice Chancellor for Academics to direct the on-going assessment of student academic success and effective teaching on campus. The Assessment Committee does the following:

  • Attends regional and national workshops and conferences to increase the committee's knowledge of assessment techniques and methods.
  • Conducts campus workshops and seminars to educate faculty about the latest assessment techniques and methods and to educate the college community about the overall purpose of assessment.
  • Drives the direction of assessment on campus by providing leadership and guidance in the development of assessment goals, objectives, and measures within the assessment plan.
  • Provides leadership for increasing faculty participation in the assessment process.
  • Reviews assessment activities at the program and discipline-level, evaluate and approve program and discipline level goals, objectives, and measures within the assessment plan which relate to assessment and makes recommendations to the Vice-Chancellor for Academics for appropriate curricular changes to enhance program quality.
  • Works with the Vice Chancellor for Academics to initiate program, discipline, and classroom level assessment methodologies and measures when needed.
  • Drives the discipline and classroom level utilization of assessment data to improve student learning and ensure effective teaching.
  • Shares with the college community information regarding assessment activities and accomplishments and changes made as a result of the assessment process.

The Committee Members are as follows: Dr. Valerie Wilson, Sara Landaverde, Chair; Jodi Eppinette, Dean of Instruction; Phillip Allison, Instructor; Sandi Daniel, Instructor; Courtney Haygood, Director of Student Life; Phyllis Hutson, Instructor; Scotty Morrison, Instructor; Elizabeth Self, Instructor; Traci Sutton, Instructor; Shelley Young, Allied Health Division Coordinator.

For more information, contact Dr. Valerie Wilson at 870.574.4514 or at